Seven Sacraments

There are seven mysteria (sacraments) in Orthodoxy:

Holy Baptism

The complete immersion in water three times in the Name of the Father, the Son, and the Holy Spirit - for the cleansing of sins and the beginning of a new life in Christ.

Holy Chrismation

The newly baptized servant is then confirmed into the Faith being anointed and sealed with the Gift of the Holy Spirit.

Holy Communion

Receiving the precious Body and Blood of Jesus Christ. A rededication to a more Christian way of life.

Holy Confession

The act of confessing one's sins in repentance, thereby asking forgiveness from the Lord.

Holy Unction

Receiving the Grace of God through Holy Oil unto healing of body and soul.

Holy Matrimony

The holy union of man and woman.

Holy Orders

The ordaining by God, those men, wishing to serve the Lord as shepherds of His flock.

The foundation of these beliefs is based on Holy Scripture and Holy Tradition; Holy Tradition derived, not by custom, but rather through the teachings of the Church from the time of the Apostles to the decision of the Ecumenical Synods: The Greek Orthodox Church has not changed! It remains as it was, when there was but ONE CHRISTIAN CHURCH!